COMMISSIONER, COUNCIL AND COUNCIL STAFF OF THE YUKON TERRITORY (as at Oct. 1, 1967)

Commissioner...... J. Smith

Members of the Council-

Carmacks-Kluane	
Dawson	G. O. SHAW Mrs. G. J. GORDON
Mayo Watson Lake	D. E. TAYLOR
Whitehorse East	N. S. CHAMBERLIST
Whitehorse North	
Whitehorse South	J. F. DUMAS
Officers of the Council-	
Territorial Secretary and Clerk of the Council Legal Adviser.	H. J. TAYLOR (vacant)

Northwest Territories

The Temporary Government Act of 1869 was the first legislation by the Federal Government to establish government in the newly acquired Rupert's Land and North-Western Territory. However, functional territorial government really dates from the North-West Territories Act of 1875. The creation of the Provinces of Saskatchewan and Alberta in 1905 and the adjustment of the northern boundaries of the Provinces of Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec by 1912 pushed the Territories north of the 60th parallel. The 1905 legislation provided for a federally appointed Commissioner with wide executive and legislative powers and a Council of four but no Councillors were appointed for 16 years. In 1921 the Council was expanded to six members and, until 1946 when the first territorial resident was appointed, it was comprised entirely of senior federal officials.

Defence early warning systems, radio and greatly improved air transportation after World War II ended the extreme isolation of the North and pressures for improved territorial government soon followed. The main advances came with legislative changes in 1951 and 1952 when the Council membership was increased to eight, with three of these elected from the Mackenzie District. A fourth was added in 1954. At least two Council sessions were required to be held in a year; one in the Territories and all others at the seat of government in Ottawa. The subjects on which the Commissioner in Council could legislate were increased to approximate those of the provincial legislatures except that natural resources (other than game) were reserved to the Federal Government. A Territorial Court was established.

Recent Constitutional Developments.—Since the quickening of federal interest in the North in the 1950s, there have been concern and effort to arrange for a resident territorial government and to chart the course of its future development. The first action was taken in 1963 when it was proposed to divide the Northwest Territories into two territories to allow the residual "Mackenzie Territory" to have a resident administration and to advance more rapidly than the proposed "Nunassiaq Territory" in the Eastern Arctic. While the disparity between the physical, economic and social conditions in the two areas was recognized, the draft legislation met strong opposition and the Bills did not survive beyond first reading and committee examination. However, an amendment to the Northwest Territories Act in 1966 created three new electoral districts in the Eastern Arctic and, for the first time, gave elected representation to all residents of the Territories. Also, at the ensuing election the first Eskimo was elected to the Territorial Council. A separate consolidated revenue fund was set up for the Territorial Government and wider powers in other areas of financial administration were introduced.

Meanwhile, in 1965, the Federal Government had appointed an Advisory Commission on the Development of Government in the Northwest Territories which travelled widely in the North to examine into the local needs for change. Following receipt of its recommendations in 1966, the Federal Government acted quickly to provide for a territorial administration resident in the Territories. Yellowknife was designated as the seat of territorial government and arrangements were begun to accommodate the Commissioner